Friend of our site

MMA Headlines


Bleacher Report

MMA Fighting

MMA Torch

MMA Weekly

Sherdog (News)

Sherdog (Articles)

Liver Kick

MMA Mania

Bloody Elbow

MMA Ratings

Rating Fights

Yahoo MMA Blog

Search this site

Latest Articles

News Corner

MMA Rising

Audio Corner


Sherdog Radio

Eddie Goldman

Video Corner

Fight Hub

Special thanks to...

Link Rolodex

Site Index

To access our list of posting topics and archives, click here.

Friend of our site

Buy and sell MMA photos at MMA Prints

Site feedback

Fox Sports: "Zach Arnold's Fight Opinion site is one of the best spots on the Web for thought-provoking MMA pieces."

« | Home | »

Withdrawal Agreement Vote Results

By Zach Arnold | April 19, 2022

Print Friendly and PDF

The bill has passed report stage and third reading. On Wednesday, January 22, 2020, the bill returned to the House of Commons with five amendments from the Lords. These were all rejected. The first vote on Boris Johnson`s bill passed by a vote of 329 to 299, but it did not get approval from the quick timetable that would have allowed it to move through the House of Commons by Thursday. From the voting lists, it appears that @UKLabour #shadowcabinet members @IanLaveryMP and @jon_trickett did not vote on the #brexit bill, which the party officially rejected In BBC Newsnight, Grieve said May must keep the “assurances” she had given that Parliament would have a greater say in any final Brexit deal. [47] [48] There was disagreement among the Conservatives on what had been agreed, with MP Anna Soubry stating that “the Prime Minister said yesterday that Clause c of Dominic Grieve`s amendment would be discussed as part of the new amendment to be tabled in the Lords,”[49] and MP Stephen Hammond wrote: “Parliament must be able to: Speak in a `no deal` situation, and we have communicated this very emphatically to the government today. The government has recognized this and I expect that a new amendment will soon cover this situation. [50] Thirty-two Labour MPs and 10 Conservatives did not vote. MEPs voted on the government`s withdrawal agreement at second reading. With Boris Johnson`s majority of 80, the bill passed with 358 votes in favour and 234 against with a comfortable majority.

The European Union also agreed to ratify the agreement on 29 January 2020[40] and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by email on 30 January 2020[41]. [42] Accordingly, the European Union also deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agreement on 30 January 2020, which concluded the Agreement[43] and allowed it to enter into force at 23.m GMT on 31 January 2020 at the time of the United Kingdom`s withdrawal from the Union. On December 4, 2018, the government submitted a corporate proposal to schedule a meaningful vote, as required by paragraph 13(1)(b), with voting scheduled for December 11, 2018. [69] On February 12, 2019, Theresa May made a statement in the House of Commons on the government`s progress in securing a withdrawal agreement. [87] On the 14th. The month of February was followed by a vote on an amendable motion stating: “That this House welcomes the Prime Minister`s statement of February 12, 2019; reiterates its support for the exit approach expressed by this House on 29 January 2019 and notes that negotiations between the UK and the EU on the backstop for Northern Ireland are still ongoing.¬†Two amendments were adopted. The Brady Amendment called on the government to renegotiate the Northern Ireland backstop. It passed by 16 votes, supported by the Conservatives and the DUP against other parties in the House of Commons, but with 7 Labour MPs supporting it and 8 Conservative MPs voting against it. The Spelman-Dromey amendment explained the House of Commons` desire to avoid a no-deal Brexit.

It was passed by 8 votes, supported by all parties except the Conservatives and the DUP, but with the support of 17 Conservative MPs. An amendment that was supposed to pave the way for binding legislation that would prevent No Deal, the Cooper-Boles amendment, failed by 23 votes. Three other amendments also failed. [83] [84] The main motion (as amended) was then adopted without division. Later in the debate, the government assured potential Conservative rebels that they would address their concerns in a new amendment that the Lords would have to consider. It was thought that the concession offered by the ministers included the offer of a new parliamentary motion if the Brexit agreement was rejected by MPs and peers[3], which would open the door for MPs to take control of the negotiations if ministers in Brussels did not reach an agreement. [45] The concession meant that the government received 324 votes to 298, a majority of 26. [3] [46] None of the proposals submitted to the second round of indicative votes could find a majority in the House of Commons, so a third round of indicative votes was scheduled for April 3. [110] On April 3, 2019, the House of Commons instead focused on the debate on the “European Union Bill (Withdrawal) (No.

5).” This bill was also known as the Cooper-Letwin Act, after its main sponsors Yvette Cooper (Labour) and Oliver Letwin (Conservatives). The bill requires the government to obtain the consent of one or no extension of the exit date from the EU. To that end, the House of Commons first debated a motion of the House of Representatives that allowed the bill to be debated that day. There was a proposed amendment to the House Business motion to schedule more indicative votes for April 8, 2019; This failed due to the first tie since 1993. [111] The third vote on the Withdrawal Agreement could then take place on March 29, 2019. [104] May promised to resign as prime minister if the withdrawal agreement was passed. [105] In the end, May`s deal was rejected again, albeit by a smaller margin than in the previous two votes. [106] You can read our story about the passage of the Withdrawal Agreement Act at second reading here. Heather Stewart, political editor of the Guardian, writes: On 27 February 2019, the House of Commons voted on an amendable motion which reads as follows: “That this House take note of the Prime Minister`s statement on leaving the European Union on 26 February 2019; and further notes that talks between the UK and the EU are still ongoing. By way of derogation from the Westminster parliamentary convention, the eight votes took place simultaneously, using ballot papers instead of MPs going through lobbies to signal their vote. .

Topics: Uncategorized | No Comments » | Permalink | Trackback |

Comments are closed.