By Zach Arnold | October 10, 2010
Basic premise is that at last week’s Seoul World GP event, Semmy Schilt fought Hesdy Gerges and beat (you’ll remember him as the guy Badr Hari went nuts on in Holland earlier this year). So, what’s wrong? Simon Rutz says that one of Schilt’s corner men treated him for an injury (taping) and a doctor didn’t intervene. Rutz believes that if a doctor had seen the injury to the right shin bone that the fight would have been stopped. The ‘treatment’ was taping in between the first and second round.
We asked Bas Boon for comment and this is what he issued in response:
The protest comes from a frustrated Simon Rutz who does not control his “star” fighter Badr Hari. Round one and two were for Semmy and round three for Hesdy, so the result 2-1 is correct.
As for the protest, I hope for Hesdy that the unprofessional behavior of his management will not lead to not using Hesdy in a superfight or reserve fight on December 11th. All fighters and coach/managers must sign a form at the rule meeting and can not discredit K-1 (Simon likes to speak about the rules, well… this is also a rule). Simon Rutz has all the right to protest how much he wants, but he should first wait for the result which takes two or three weeks according to K-1 rules.
What is really surprising is that a Dutch newspaper “the telegraph” printed this story on the front page – stating there is e a big chance of Semmy being disqualified? This is speculation, as K-1 never spoke to any media about any protest or result (confirmed by mail) and these lies came by a press conference from Simon. I contacted K-1 and they never talked to any media about this. This was orchestrated by Simon Rutz, who is a promoter himself and has his own agenda. They called the action of Bas Boon sneaky?
If Rutz would have read the K-1 rules, he could have seen that the worst penalty they could have given me for taping Semmy after the first round would be a caution, warning or finally a point deduction or yellow card. However, I did use tape from the organization and an official was present who ask me to stop taping when the second round started, so there is nothing sneaky about that – as Simon claimed in the Dutch telegraph newspaper.
It also proved that we could enjoy another two great rounds and that medical interference was never necessary.
Disqualification is mentioned in the K-1 rules if I would have entered the ring during the fight, which did not happen.
It’s a last attempt of desperate management (if you can call it a management) who sees their “star” fighters not performing or even not see them at all… not to mention how unprofessional this behavior is.
Kharitonov performed very well in only his second K-1 fight and Saki and Alistair did great. Semmy had a hard fight, but deserved the win.